Home > Software Development > Windows Communication Framework (WCF): Beware the fake IDisposable implementation !!

Windows Communication Framework (WCF): Beware the fake IDisposable implementation !!

Yeesh. My fascination with WCF became red-faced shame overnight.

We’re using WCF client/server both on a server, so an ASP.NET web app can query a custom indexing service. Since this was a fresh project with no legacy constraints, I opted to use WCF rather than remoting to…, well, to drink the kool-aid I suppose, but I thought the argument made at the AZGroups presentation that “you shouldn’t have to worry about the plumbing” was compelling. (Now that the solution is almost fully baked, I am really annoyed I went down this path simply because of the hassle I went through in having to manually populate the original strong types in a shared codebase between client and server. IMO, DataContract-driven proxy code is only useful for third parties.)

An initial WCF implementation with a simple loop of create, invoke, and drop scope a WCF client that used named pipes to a WCF service was freezing up after 12 iterations. Executing manually, roughly one iteration per second, it froze up on the 50th or so iteration.

Turned out I wasn’t calling Close() and should have been. *blush* Of course. But I looked for Dispose() to see if I could use the using() statement, and it wasn’t there. Or, wasn’t explicit, one must cast to IDisposable first before calling its Dispose() method.

Fixing that, now I was getting exceptions on Close() / Dispose() if the server had returned a Fault message. Buried deep in the far back of the WCF book I’m reading–and actually I had to use Reflector to figure this out before I looked in the book to see if I was right–is a brief mention not to use the using() statement with WCF clients, and don’t call Dispose(), either, but to call Close() manually. Dispose() on WCF clients actually call Close() internally. But just don’t expect the CLR / compiler to pick that up, and you shouldn’t always call Close(), either, but rather Abort(). Confused yet?

As I posted in Microsoft.public.windows.developer.winfx.indigo,

IDisposable was always percieved to be the happy, safe haven for getting rid of objects that use unmanaged resources. If something implemented IDisposable, Dispose() was always callable. Not so anymore.

((IDisposable)client).Dispose() can only be called on a WCF client if Close() can be called, because internally it calls Close(). Close() cannot be called unless basically it’s in the Open state; otherwise, you have to execute Abort() instead, which is not a memeber of IDisposable. This means that, even though the object does indeed implement IDisposable, its *SUPPORT* for IDisposable is 100% dependent upon the caller evaluating the State of the object to determine whether or not it’s open. In other words, Microsoft has established a new precedent: IDisposable mandates extraneous state-checking code before its IDisposable implementation is usable, and the only thing you can do about it is wrap it.

I might’ve opted to create a new interface, IReallyDispose, but then I’d still have to implement it. I could create an abstract class, WcfDisposable, but C# doesn’t support multiple inheritance. The best I can do is put a sticky note on my computer monitor that reads: "WCF client objects don’t REALLY implement IDisposable unless they’re Open!" Then I can only hope that I’ll pay attention to my stickynote when I’m going about WCF coding.

Does anyone else besides me find this to be unacceptably stupid and messy? I really *WANT* to like WCF. I love greenfield projects that use promising new technology, but when new technology abandons key design patterns like this, it really gets under my skin.

Discussing the matter further, ..

This isn’t about the object not being able to Close(). I don’t mind Close() raising exceptions. The core problem is that IDisposable throws an exception just because the object is in a "Faulted" state, while the object retains unmanaged resources!! IDisposable is generic and agnostic to connections/sockets/pipes/channels/streams, so I disagree when most people say "Dispose() and Close() are one and the same", because they’re not. What Dispose() is supposed to do is safely unload unmanaged resources, whether that means to Close() or not. WCF shouldn’t implement IDisposable if IDisposable.Dispose() will ever throw exceptions. I don’t care if Dispose() calls Close(), it should wrap that call with …

void IDisposable.Dispose()
{
	if (this.State == CommunicationState.Closing ||
		this.State == CommunicationState.Closed ||
		this.State == CommunicationState.Faulted)
	{
		this.Abort();
	}
	else
	{
		this.Close();
	}
}

Instead, Reflector says it’s implemented as such:

void IDisposable.Dispose()
{
	this.Close();
}

Since IDisposable has compile-time support for managing resources with Dispose, including the using() statement, this implementation is garbage.

There should be a working IDisposable.Dispose() that clears out unmanaged resources if you are *NOT* working in a transaction and have nothing to "abort" except the open connection itself. IMO, outside of a transaction, disposal of any object is an "abortion".

The bug in the design isn’t just faulty Dispose(), but that IDisposable was implemented in the first place. The practice we are told to use is to ignore it, and to call Close() or Abort() ourselves. Therefore, it’s not disposable, it’s only Closable/Abortable, depending on state. Why, then, did they implement IDisposable?

Where does Microsoft stand on this? Well, according to this forum post [link], they couldn’t figure out what to do themselves, so they released it with it with no real solution. Literally, "for good or for ill we have landed where we have", which was to try{} to Close, catch{} to Abort. Oh, nice planning. My respect for Microsoft just went down about 50 points.

Categories: Software Development
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

